Classic Japan’s Sakura Picnic. Bundoora Park – Part One.

Picture7863

In any case of having a ‘first-time’ event, you never know what to expect so I find it’s best if expectations are kept low. This was the mind set I had prior to attending the first ever Classic Japan Sakura Picnic. I’ve been to Classic Japan run events before and although not mind blowing-ly huge, the quality is always there, so rocking up half an hour early to last Sunday’s Sakura Picnic, held beneath the gums at Bundoora Park and seeing the place already over a quarter full and rapidly filling, mind blowing was an understatement because alongside quantity, there was quality in droves.

Rolling in, paying my $10 – all money raised was donated to the Breast Cancer Foundation – and following orders of where to park, I was set. It seemed before I’d even hopped out of the car and set up my camera, there was already 2-3 rows of parked cars which had piled in behind me, it hadn’t even hit the ‘gates open’ time of 10am yet – a big day this was going to be.

 

Picture7833

Above & Below: I have a huge soft spot for kei cars and so this shakotan/ bosozoku styled Honda Pro T was a huge stand out for me. With it’s star shaped Takeyari exhaust, front mounted oil cooler and wide stance.. and if you’re wondering about the headlights, search the Instagram hashtag ‘#nicholascagesfaceonthings’.. Yep, that’s a thing now.

Picture7837

Picture7825
Picture7824
Picture7826

Above & Below: I’m quite sure I’ve seen this MA63 Celica Supra around before. Such a clean build with ground scraping shakotan ride height and perfectly straight gloss black panels.
Picture7827
Picture7828
Picture7855
Picture7836

Above: An original beige Toyota Crown ute with decal pack, a rare site in Australia, yet a car that looked completely home under the Gumtrees.
Picture7838
Picture7839
Picture7840
Picture7841
Picture7854

Above: Shakotan 1st Gen’ Hilux, complete with MKI’s and ADVAN tyre lettering was beyond cool – This is how you JDM, take notes. More to come of it in Part Two.
Picture7857

Above: One of Two static Rocket Bunny kitted GT86’s (BRZ/FRS) in attendance. My idea of the ultimate daily driver. 

Picture7842

Above & Below: These two MX73 Cressidas oozed cool, and the gold one had a little something I didn’t expect..

Picture7843

Picture7844

Picture7846

Picture7847

Below: …Seeing the bonnet open on the gold x73, I peeked in for a closer look admittedly expecting a 1 or 2JZ conversion but nope, a custom turboed 5M.

Picture7853

Below: I’ll end part one with a photo of my Bluebird 910.

Picture7865

Leave a Reply

