Final 2016 Post – A Cafe Moto Bobber and some Architecture on the 2017 Horizon.

picture8363

My last post was almost the final mixed lot from Motorclassica, had I not forgot to mention I was taking a little break. As I only run Highstyle in my spare time, I decided to dedicate said spare time to a few other projects I have going on, one obviously being my Bluebird drift/ hardpark/ skid car/ whatever else I plan on using it for (which I may have to start calling the Pinkbird next year) and a few other projects around the house as well as doing a few things Aiden and Emily want to do on the weekend and not dragging them to car shows, swap meets, and whatever else car related I came across for that weekend coming. That didn’t stop me from coming across cars in the street and kindly asking (if said car peaked my interest long enough and I deemed it feature worthy), if a shoot and feature would be possible, some declined, some agreed, some things fell through and others are in the works.

I have also decided to go back to my photographical roots in architecture and will be starting a new SEPARATE (key word) blog to Highstyle, which will cater to all things architectural but I’ll get to more on that little project later when I get closer to setting it up.

Anyway, I’ll cut this a little short as that Bluebird isn’t going to build itself… well it might have to if Forza Horizon 3 keeps calling me…. I need to focus though. I hope everybody had a good Christmas, I hope you all have a good New Years and I’ll be back in a few weeks with some automotive goodness from the Kustom Nationals – January 6, 7 & 8 at Phillip Island GP Circuit, I’ll be in the Highstyle tee, come say hi, you may get a free sticker.

picture8367

Now I’m the first to admit that I know little about bikes, I’ve said it here before and I will say it again, and again but I do know cool when I see it and this I deem as cool. I stumbled across it one day whilst stopping off at Cafe Moto for a coffee on my way to… (I can’t remember but likely somewhere car related) and asked the mechanic in the workshop at the time (I’m sorry, I have forgotten your name) a little about it.

picture8358

It’s owned by a bloke who goes by the name Dirt Bike Dan, and as you can see is far from a dirt bike. From what I can tell/ remember being told it’s based on a Harley Davidson hard tail frame and fitted with a V Twin Shovel Head, which breathes through a pod air filter and is fed via an S&S Super carburettor. Exhaust gases leave via dual custom fish tail pipes.
picture8359

picture8360

White leather diamond stitch springer seat sits atop the frame which is painted in metallic gold scallops over a metallic blue and also features a gold motif on the sides of the tank. Other cool notable little items were the ’32 Ford tail light attached to the relocated number plate bracket, the skateboard wheel chain tensioner and the metalflake blue foot rest and clutch pegs. The bike was for sale at the time with an asking price of around $11,000.
picture8361

picture8362

picture8364

picture8365

picture8366

2 thoughts on “Final 2016 Post – A Cafe Moto Bobber and some Architecture on the 2017 Horizon.

    • Sorry Andrew, I only just saw this comment. Well I had wanted one since I was around 16/17. I spent around 5 years looking for one (on and off) and finally found one on eBay with one bid and one day to go, and fortunately it was still within my price range at the time. From memory the listing ended at some stupid time, something like 2 or 3 in the morning so I stayed up, put my bid in and won it. Two days later we made what was meant to be a 2.5 hour drive from where I then lived to go and get it. The car we were using to pick it up with had the supercharger belt come off and with no tools we spent around 4 hours on the side of the road. After that debacle was over, we made it to Sale, I disgusted the elderly seller by telling him I was going to customise it, we got it home and it sat for a month. I drove it once, it sat for another month, life moved on and I swapped it for a Commodore (instant regret) and that was the end of that. Funny that you mentioned it becouse I have actually recently been talking with my Mrs about keeping an eye out for another one to finish off the plans I had for that previous one which still go around my head from time to time. I have a few other things to get out of the way first though…

Leave a Reply

