Mazda Heritage Collection, Volume III. Part II – Targa Prepped Rx-8.

Picture8526

To follow on from my last post, once I was done with shooting the collection of 3 series Mazda’s, I did notice tucked over under the stairwell was the Targa Tasmania prepped Rx-8 SP. I showed you a glimpse of this particular car in a previous Mazda post when it was parked out in the workshop, but seeing as it was in the foyer area and I had time, I thought I’d give you guys a more in depth look at it.

Originally built for Targa Tasmania 2009 where it finished in 10th position and then driven by former Targa champion Steve Glenney. The turbo 13B powered Rx-8 went on to compete in Targa 2010, 2011 and with the last year it competed being 2012 I believe, alongside an almost identical Rx-8, also powered by a turbo 13B.

So I’ll admit I didn’t get a decent shot of the exterior, well not one that I was happy enough with to post, so they are mostly detail shots. 

Picture8531

Picture8527

Above: AP Racing brake set-up behind 18″ Advan RGIII wheels.

Picture8528

Picture8530

Above & Below: I thought this idea was pretty cool. The switches for the electric windows and mirrors relocated to where the speaker used to sit as most of the inner door panel had been removed.

Picture8529

Picture8537

Picture8532

Picture8533

Picture8534

Picture8535

Above: Motec digital rev display.

Picture8536

Picture8541

Picture8538

Picture8539

Below: Sneaky workshop photo of an ultra rare Mazda 600 and Rx-5 Cosmo.

Picture8540

I’d like to thank John Robinson for the opportunities provided to photograph Mazda’s Collection.

Leave a Reply

